LifeWalk

______________________ LIFE, FAITH, ETCETERA

Buffalo Richie June 2, 2011

SOMETHING’S  HAPPENING  HERE!


When I heard the remaining members of Buffalo Springfield were at it again,
I had to break out Richie Furay’s “I’ve Got A Reason.”

Sonically,  this album still holds it’s own as one of the
best of all times.  Not to minimize Richie’s talents, but
my musical idol Michael Omartian’s influence is more
than noticeable.
These are great songs, masterfully produced, and just
plain fun to listen to, and sing along with.


Back in 1976, when this came out, I was part of a youth group that ran
what we thought passed for a bookstore.  We never sold much, but it
was a place to hang out and listen to music.  We had some some good times.
Wow. It’s like that was lifetime ago.

Anyway, “Jesus music” was starting to see some higher quality recordings at this time.
Certainly Norman’s “Upon This Rock,” and Petra’s debut record had good writing, talented musicians, and some great songs, but
the production money just wasn’t there.
Part of the backing for “…Reason”came via a partnership with Asylum records, to whom Richie
promised that, although the record would reflect his Christian faith, it would not
be “preachy.”  It was a positive LP, without being religious.  This gave the album a much greater marketability.

I think the only other Furay LPs I’ve owned
were “Dance A Little Light,” with a cover of one of my childhood
faves, Jay and the American’s “This Magic Moment,” and Richie’s last before his long
musical hiatus, “Seasons Of Change.”

 


Of “Dance A Little Light,” one reviewer said,
“Though recorded by what was technically a Christian rock group, [it] is
a far cry from the heavy-handed, musically inept evangelizing often associated with the genre.”
Frankly, that’s pretty high praise.



I think the next time I was aware of anything Furay was doing is when he teamed up with
the Elefante Brothers for “When Will the World See That We Need Jesus,” which
would later be covered by Petra. [Video below.]


I like music.  I have one on the widest variety of “likes,” if you will, of the people I know.
I can never imagine being stuck in one decade or genre of music.
BUT, if I had to pick a favorite period, it would be the late 60’s through the 70’s.

My wife and I have seen a lot of the “old” acts in the past few years:
The Monkees, Denis Deyoung, Alice Cooper, An ABBA tribute band, and The Grass Roots, to name just some.
We recently saw B.J. Thomas, and we have tickets for upcoming concerts to
Hermin’s Hermits and Three Dog Night.




So Richie, Stephen and Neil;
“For What It’s Worth,” I would be greatly pleased if you
would get yourselves to Fort Wayne, Indiana.
I’d love to add Buffalo Springfield to the above list,
before the man come and take you away.


[Click on image to read the
Rolling Stone Article on Buffalo Springfield]



[Click on any of the Richie Furay album covers above for reviews and purchase options.]








 

3 Responses to “Buffalo Richie”

  1. Dave Aldrich Says:

    My son is heading to Bonaroo in Tennessee next week and Buffalo Springfield will be there. Oh how I envy the boy!


Leave a Reply

