LifeWalk

______________________ LIFE, FAITH, ETCETERA

PEACE August 15, 2010

Filed under: Humor,Personal — lifewalkblog @ 1:53 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , ,



My wife likes flowers and plants.

We have a lot of them.

We also have a lot of trees around where we live.



Of all the gin-joints…I, I mean,
Of all the trees where a bird could make a nest,
This dove chose to come onto our deck, and make
a nest in one of my wife’s plants.



My wife made the discovery as she was watering the plants.
She held the sprayer over the hanging plant, pulled the trigger, and
both her and the bird got quite a surprise!






We’ve named the dove “Peace.”  She’ll let us get pretty close, but she seems
to be camera shy.

After her “close-up,” she flew away in a huff. It wasn’t long, though, until she was back sitting on her egg.

Now Introducing her babies, Joy and Love.

 

6 Responses to “PEACE”

  1. KristinC Says:

    She’s beautiful! Much cooler than all the pigeons breeding under the roof of my neighbor’s back porch. 🙂
    P.S. I appreciate your blog; I look forward to reading more.

  2. lifewalkblog Says:

    We’ve got a lot of “friends”out here. I don’t know if you’ve seen this, but we often have deer in our back yard.
    I put them on YouTube:

  3. lifewalkblog Says:

    OK, I saw your email address, and now know who you are. It’s been a LONG time since I’ve seen you. Hope you are doing well and blessed.
    Thanks for the kind words concerning my blog. As a Jesus-loving, ex-right-wing-conservative-evangelical, I’ve been seeing a whole new world these last number of years. One thing I do is give away A LOT of books. If you’re interested in any of the following, they’re books I have extra copies of. Feel free to pick a couple, and let me know where to mail them!
    Velvet Elvis, Blue Like Jazz, The Shack, The Myth of a Christian Nation, Love Is An Orientation, Grace (Eventually), The Naked Gospel

  4. KristinC Says:

    Hey, thank you, I am doing pretty well. Hope you guys are doing well, also. I liked the deer video. 🙂 Do you live outside of town now, or do they just walk right into your neighborhood?

    Thanks for the book offer, by the way. I remember that you were always giving stuff away; you always gave my dad music, which I would usually help myself to before he had a chance to listen to any of it. When I turned 13, you told him that I was too old not to have my own CD player, so he bought me one. I owe you a gigantic, belated “THANK YOU” for that, because of course, being an adolescent, having a CD player changed my life. (Of course, if you bought a 13-year-old a CD player now, he’d probably just stare at it blankly and ask what it DOES, exactly.) So, thanks. 🙂

    As for the books, I feel sort of bad having you mail them, but if you really don’t mind, I’ve always meant to read “Velvet Elvis”. I’ve already read “Grace (Eventually)” (love LaMott!!), and I own “Blue Like Jazz”. Started reading “The Shack” and, I hate to say this, but I got a bit bored once he actually got to the shack and started up that endless dialogue with God, so I never finished it. (Please don’t stone me. Shack lovers can be VERY passionate, I know.) One of these days I might pick it back up–I think we have a copy of it kicking around here somewhere. The others I don’t really know much about. But “Velvet Elvis” has been on my list for a while. If you’re SURE you don’t mind, here’s my address: 755 S. Market Ave Springfield MO. 65806

    Thanks again!

    • lifewalkblog Says:

      Howdy.
      About the deer, we moved to the north side of town. We have a great location, just north of the zoo. So we’re just a block south of Coliseum, and 3 minutes from the mall, but it’s almost like being out in the country at the same time.

      I’ve packaged up a couple of books and a DVD. They’ll be going out “media mail” today. Should be there in about 5 days. I’m a “little bit” obsessive about sending out things I like (books, CDs, DVDs, small animals…wait, no, not the animals), so you’ll probably get more later, now that I know you like that kind of thing. I’ve sent your dad “Blue Like Jazz, Velvet Elvis, The Shack, He Loves Me, Everything Is Spiritual (dvd), Through My Eyes (dvd), and The Myth Of A Christian Nation. Maybe more. Don’t know if he’s read any of them. Last I heard, each new one he just “throws on the pile” (his words). He’s a busy man, but I figure if he gets the chance, they’ll be there waiting for him.

      I’m sure having that CD player kept you from a life of drugs, crime, and a career in politics (Wait, I already said “crime”).
      Yes, it’s the digital age, but I still want my CDs. I want to hold them. To look at the artwork. To read the notes. I don’t even have an iPod. Maybe someday. But I’ll still keep the CDs.

      Got bored with “The Shack” ?!?!?!? Well, I was going to “un-friend” you, and block your comments. But, being the grace-monger, and oh-so-spiritual man that I am, I may forgive you…in time. We’ll see.

      Anyway, I hope you enjoy the few items you’ll soon be receiving. Your first club selections will be arriving soon. Keep in touch, and if you’re ever in Ft. Wayne, feel free to stop by.

      Extravagant Blessings,
      dave

  5. […] LoveJoy August 30, 2010 Filed under: Humor,Personal — lifewalkblog @ 2:12 pm Tags: baby birds, bird, birds, dove, hatch, Joy, love, peace, Personal, plants, wife 4 or 5 posts ago, I told you about a dove that had decided to use one of my wife’s plants as a nesting area. We named her “Peace.” (The dove. Not my wife.) Introducing her babies, Joy and Love. The original post is here: https://lifewalkblog.wordpress.com/2010/08/15/peace/ […]


Leave a Reply

