LifeWalk

______________________ LIFE, FAITH, ETCETERA

Heresy And Heretics June 3, 2010

The earth revolves around the sun. HERESY!
   (The Bible clearly teaches the sun rises and falls around the earth.)

The common man should have access to the scriptures.  HERESY!
   (The Catholic church said only professionals can understand the Bible.)

Persons with black skin should be treated as humans.  HERESY!
   (The KKK often held fundamentalist views and believed that the
   Anglo-Saxon Protestants were the DIVINE elite group who held the right to govern.)

Women are not possessions of their husbands.  HERESY!
   (We even need laws to state that women should get equal pay?!?!?)

     Galileo: HERETIC!
          Luther: HERETIC!
               Martin Luther King: HERETIC! (and Communist.)

Jesus Christ: HERETIC!

Jesus threatened the Pharisees foundational (fundamental?) beliefs to the very core, and
was Public Enemy #1 of the religious leaders.

History has proven, again and again, that the institutional church has
frequently labeled God’s prophets, and others speaking truth, as heretics.
Repeatedly, religion has had to be dragged, kicking and screaming, into the light of truth.
Anytime the status quo of it’s “authority” is questioned, challenged or threatened, rest assured,
it will be called heresy.

Knowing this, maybe we should look at who the church is railing against today.
   Bell.
      McLaren.
         Burke.
            Young.
Just to name a few.

Maybe, given the proven track record of the “church,” we should, at least,
give serious consideration to those whose teachings are currently being labeled as “heretical.”

From what I’ve seen, we need more heretics.  God bless the heretics.


— df

 

9 Responses to “Heresy And Heretics”

  1. Joe Strahm Says:

    From what I have seen of the “Modern Church World” they have embraced and blessed the heretics, it seems to me we have plenty of them in the Church and on Christian TV already– I don’t see the pertinence of the point you are making as in relationship to today’s “Modern Church”. And why would you say the Church is “afraid of” the people you listed in the “afraid list”. You make the Church sound so pitiable.

  2. lifewalkblog Says:

    My point is in relationship to today’s right-wing, fundamentalist, evangelical modern church, which is, I believe, often pitiable. This does not, of course, mean that there are not true Jesus loving people inside these institutions. Just because I used to be a part of the institution doesn’t mean I wasn’t where I needed to be at the time. Thankfully, my wife and I were led out of that setting.

    People speak of the liberal media, but the conservative media is much stronger. Of course, the use of the word “heretic” must be understood in context. As I tried to point out in the brief article, a heretic is anyone who dares question the status quo of oppressive, authoritative religion.
    Also, “afraid of” constitutes the “burn the book” mentality of those who wish to religiously regulate thoughts of others that don’t conform to their worldview.
    Anyway, thanks for stopping by to share your views.
    Be blessed.

    • lifewalkblog Says:

      PS.
      Joe, for clarity, I changed “afraid of” to “railing against.”
      Maybe that will make more sense to people.
      Thanks again.

  3. Dave Says:

    I once criticized my parents for visiting a church several times in the new town they moved to that didn’t hold to orthodox Christian beliefs. I labeled the church as “heretics” without truely understanding what they believed and why.

    The ironic thing is I have changed and I now wholeheartedly agree with the beliefs of that denomination (and I know why I do). If I moved to that town, that would be the only church I would attend. As it is now I have to travel 80 minutes one way to attend a sister church in that denomination.

    My wife has labeled me a heretic. Her orthodox pastor has said I’m not a Christian (although I agree with Peter’s confession and everything in the Apostles Creed), told me never to darken the door of HIS church and even said I was an “antichrist”. Wow … how loving? (sarcasm) 🙂

    I like what Dave said. It is true that this church has been wrong many times in the past. Since the church is made up of flawed human beings, institutional religion will have its flaws … some very serious. But we need to remember that we are all flawed and all on a life-journey. No one has arrived and to think so means that you are ignorant of the journey you have left to travel. No one can be certain they are right or “have the truth” so to speak. We just need to try to find love and common-ground with those both in the church and those outside. We need to keep and open mind that maybe we are wrong in certain areas and constantly seek to learn and love.

    I’m encouraged by Dave’s post. Although we have been friends for years, he once labeled me a heretic – and if I remember right – in not the nicest tone of voice. Although I doubt we agree or ever will on our theological differences, it is good to know that my friend will probably never call me a “heretic” again. We are scheduled to have lunch together next week and I’m looking forward to it. We share a lot of common ground, he and I, and I’m sure our conversation will focus on that and not our differences.

    Readers … Dave is a good man. A well-meaning man whose life-journey and spiritual-journey have taken him in, through and out of places many people will never see. I knew him while he was still “in” institutional religion and I’ve seen his journey “out” to a world where he is a blessed man because he has made his religion truely his own. So many people think they understand and “have” religion but in reality they just blindly accept the religion and practices of their parents and the people behind the pulpit. Most people cannot explain why they believe what they do except to say “because that’s what the church says.”

    Dave is a “dangerous” man to organized religion — he is a thinking Christian. I am one too. I’m proud to call him my friend.

    • lifewalkblog Says:

      Wow. I don’t remember calling you a heretic. OK, I remember thinking it. Anyway, my sincere apology and request for forgiveness.
      Any you’re right, we’ll probably never agree on certain points (we know what they are). But so what! God is SO much bigger than our doctrines. Our understanding is so limited. It could very well end up like:
      “Is it THIS, or is it THAT?” With the answer being “Yes.”
      (Thank you, Rob Bell)
      And thanks, Dave, for stopping by. See you next week.

  4. smudge Says:

    love this post
    so true
    signed
    another heretic

  5. Laurie jackson Says:

    love this!


Leave a Reply

