LifeWalk

______________________ LIFE, FAITH, ETCETERA

Rich Mullins Quotes May 17, 2010





“It never fails. God will put people in your path that irritate you, especially if you’re prone to be irritated.



And this is what I have come to think: That if I want to identify fully with Jesus Christ, whom I claim to be my Savior and Lord the best way that I can do that is to identify with the poor. This I know will go against the teachings of all the popular evangelical preachers. But they’re just wrong. They’re not bad, they’re just wrong. Christianity is not about building an absolutely secure little niche in the world where you can live with your perfect little wife and your perfect little children in your beautiful little house where you have no gays or minority groups anywhere near you. Christianity is about learning to love like Jesus loved.


You guys are all into that born again thing, which is great. We do need to be born again, since Jesus said that to a guy named Nicodemus. But if you tell me I have to be born again to enter the kingdom of God, I can tell you that you just have to sell everything you have and give it to the poor, because Jesus said that to one guy too.  But I guess that’s why God invented highlighters, so we can highlight the parts we like and ignore the rest.


It’s just that for so many people that I know, Christianity’s this matter of … it has everything to do with morals. Christianity is a religion about morals. And they will even talk about Jesus. And they will say kids need to know about Jesus so they won’t smoke, drink, or chew, or go with girls that do, and all that kind of thing. And I kinda go, “That’s not why people need to know about Jesus. The only reason—the only possible excuse for talking about Jesus is because we need a Savior.”


The secret of rock music: “If you can’t be good, be loud.”


I can understand why people would have doubts about the Bible. It’s a weird, strange, goofy book!”


I don’t think you read the Bible to know truth. I think you read the Bible to find God, that we encounter him there. Paul says that the Scriptures are God’s breath and I kind of go ‘Wow, so let’s breathe this as deeply as possible.

 

2 Responses to “Rich Mullins Quotes”

  1. Barney Toney Says:

    I remember hearing the story that one of Richs booking guys told; “They would call and ask for Rich to come and play, but say, could you ask Rich not to talk too much when he is here?” The guy says, “If Rich didn’t talk, a lot of the truth we be left unsaid”. Rich had a very unique view of God, Jesus, and his church. Simplistic, and yet profound, and while I am much more orthodox, in many ways, Rich opened my eyes to see things I never would’ve seen without the work that he did.

  2. Debi Says:

    I totally get you, We need Jesus, without him we’re lost. So beautiful & honest are Rich Mullins quotes


Leave a Reply

