LifeWalk

______________________ LIFE, FAITH, ETCETERA

Baby Smashing: 101 April 24, 2010

 


“Bless The Baby Smashers?”
By Bert Gary and David Foreman

Do you want to claim all the blessings of the Bible? I’ve heard pastors telling their congregants to claim this very thing. But I have reservations. And I raise my reservations in order to question common assumptions about what the Bible is and how to interpret it.

Now I like this blessing:

Blessed is he who has regard for the weak; the LORD delivers him in times of trouble. (Psalm 41:1)

But look at this one:

Blessed shall he be who takes your little ones and dashes them against the rock!
(Psalm 137:9 – ESV)

Do I really want to claim all the blessings in the Bible? I realize the Bible assures us, “For every one of God’s promises are “Yes” in him; therefore also through him the “Amen” is spoken, to the glory we give to God.” (2 Cor 1:20 – NET) But obviously I can’t claim the right to be a blessed baby smasher, can I? Houston, we have a problem.

As I have grown to love and trust the Bible, I’ve come to understand that the Scriptures “plainly” say a lot of things. But, where I see us frequently getting off track is when we fail to realize that, if not reverently cautious to read Scriptures in context, we can read the Bible saying a lot of things that the Bible “plainly” doesn’t say.

— Read the rest of the article. Click HERE: Does The Bible Really Say That

 

Leave a Reply

