LifeWalk

______________________ LIFE, FAITH, ETCETERA

My Review of “Through Painted Deserts” November 6, 2009

This is my 3rd Donald Miller book.  I must say, it’s my least favorite of the three.  Don’t get me wrong.  I’m not saying it’s bad.  It’s actually quite good.  I just liked the other two better.

In “Through Painted Deserts” Donald chronicles a road trip he took with a friend in a beat up VW van.  The main destination was the Grand Canyon.  There were, of course,  plenty of adventures before and after.  They lived in this van.  They slept in the van, and in the woods, and wherever they could. 

I can somewhat identify with the story.  In the 70’s I took a trip to the Grand Canyon with two other guys and a girl.  The four of us, and all our camping gear, in a Vega!  Yeah.  Fun.  Well, I think they all enjoyed it.  Me, not so much.

Anyway, this is that kind of story.  Miller makes many observations of life and Christian spirituality, just probably not as many as in his two previous works.

“I’ve learned that I don’t really know much about anything.  Life is not a story about me, but it is being told to me.  I think that is the ‘why’ of this ancient faith I am caught up in: to enjoy God.” – Donald Miller –

So, I do recommend this book, but only after “Searching For God Knows What,” and certainly after “Blue Like Jazz.”  If you get through those two, and still want more Donald Miller, then read “Through Painted Deserts.
I’m looking forward to his latest, “A Million Miles in a Thousand Years.”  Hey, it’s even got Steve Taylor in it.  That should up the sarcasm!

— dave

 

2 Responses to “My Review of “Through Painted Deserts””

  1. rico Says:

    maybe you should have read through painted deserts first…i think that it was a good start to his other books, i did enjoy the book, sorry you did not.

  2. lifewalkblog Says:

    Actually, I said “It was quite good.” I just liked his other books better.
    Thanks for stopping by. Be blessed.
    dave


Leave a Reply

