LifeWalk

______________________ LIFE, FAITH, ETCETERA

…And I Feel Fine November 3, 2009

200px-REM_End_of_the_World_US7

I’ve just finished reading another article about the year 2012.  Here we go again.  I’m so tired of this crap.
So many were sure the year 2000 would do us all in.  Y2K had the country worrying about computer crashes bringing the world to a technological end, if not a complete end.  I remember telling people I thought 2000 would come and go just like every other year.  It did.

I think people, for some reason, like instilling fear.  It’s like some kind of perverse game.  Just look at the dozens of  “Beware” of  this-or-that emails forwarded.  Ninety-nine percent of these are sheer fabrication.  People just blindly forward them on, without checking them out.  I especially hate the ones that falsely include the tag “I checked this out on Snopes, and it’s legit.”  Well, I check them out on Snopes, and they’re usually NOT legit.  Forwarding these things is a total act of irresponsibility.  So is using scare tactics involving the calendar.

How many hundreds of years of false predictions will it take for people to wake up?  Remember “88 Reasons Why The Rapture Will Be In ’88?”  I think they’ve had one every year since.  In my research, I found a list of failed end-of-the-world predictions, starting in AD 30.  Sextus Julius Africanus had predicted Armageddon at 500 AD.  Charles Wesley predicted 1794.  On and on and on.
Some Christians seem to wear this paranoia like a badge of honor; like it somehow serves or pleases God.  I’m convinced it certainly does not.  If anything, it detracts from the central message of Jesus.

Jesus said “The kingdom of God is not coming with signs to be observed, nor will they say, ‘Look, here it is!’ or ‘There!’ For indeed, the kingdom of God is in your midst.”  Over and over Jesus teaches that the kingdom is here.  The kingdom is now.  We are the kingdom people.  We are God’s house.  We are the new Jerusalem.  It’s not about the “sweet by and by.”  (By the way, show me where ‘heaven’ has streets of gold.)

Could 2012 be “the end of the world as we know it?”  Sure.  So could tomorrow.  But concern over the end of the world gives us the wrong focus.  This all distracts from how we are to treat other people.  It distracts from how we are to treat the earth.  After all, the world’s going to end soon, so who cares if I dump my trash in the street!  It takes our minds off of important things, like social injustice, hunger, and other areas where we are to be the “salt of the earth.”  It ignores, or worse, violates the part of Jesus’ prayer that says “on earth as it is in heaven.”

How are we to live today?  The answer to that question shouldn’t change whether the world ends in 2012, or tomorrow, or ten-thousand years from tomorrow.

–dave

 

One Response to “…And I Feel Fine”

  1. Brad Says:

    Thanks so much for your thoughts. I’ve often thought of how our culture is a culture of fear and how easy it is for Christians to join in with that fear. Yet we are encouraged throughout Scriptures to not fear. I hope we can move away from how we normally react to living out of the hope and faith that is always available to us through Christ.


Leave a Reply

