LifeWalk

______________________ LIFE, FAITH, ETCETERA

Moving, Israelites, and Eddie Izzard July 16, 2009

Filed under: Personal — lifewalkblog @ 1:12 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Well, as those who chose to stay on the “Re-Union” mailing list already know, it looks like we have a new home lined up.  IF there are no glitches, we should close by the end of July, and be moved in sometime early August.  Please keep us in your prayers.  For the move, and related needs, of course.  But also as we continue life in general.

We’re excited, nervous, and a little bit scared.  I’m still not employed at this time, so that puts an excessive burden on my wife.

It’s odd, isn’t it, how we read scriptural accounts of the Israelites, and criticize them for their grumbling and complaining; for their lack of faith.  All God kept doing for them, and yet, each new challenge was like the end of the world.  “Why has God deserted us?!?!”
Man, can I identify!

I’m a big worrier, anyway.  I’m always taking every little problem, and playing it out to its worst possible conclusion, and beyond.  What a total waste of mental energy!
” And which of you by worrying can add even one hour to his life?”  “So then, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Today has enough trouble of its own.” – Matthew 6:27, 34  NET

There are real needs, of course.  But Jesus made it clear that God knows our needs.  I’ll admit, sometimes it’s hard for me to not worry without being apathetic.  As Steve Taylor wrote, “Since I Gave Up Hope, I Feel A Lot Better.”
Of course, I’m not without hope (I have been.  It ain’t no fun!).  Like the Israelites, I’ve seen God provide over and over and over.  I do know, deep down, that He’s got it all under control.  He will provide.  I just need to be reminded.  That’s why some time ago, I hung a sticker above my computer that says “Life is good.”  It really is, despite my many past attempts to sabotage it.

“Life’s a river, kid, you gotta go where it takes you” – Wayne Malloy

I can’t believe the places this river has taken me.  This journey, this “Life Walk,” has been quite a ride.  Amazing highs.  Unbelievable lows.  Through it all, I know that I know that I know, God has never left me or forsaken me.  He never will.

 

Leave a Reply

