LifeWalk

______________________ LIFE, FAITH, ETCETERA

The Shack May 27, 2009

Filed under: Books — lifewalkblog @ 7:23 am
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Shack

What a great read.  There is powerful theology couched in this fictitious story.  I know it has helped many dealing with loss, suffering, and disappointment.  I don’t read much fiction, and would have missed the joy of reading this, if my wife had not recommended it to me.

My favorite quote is in reference to the Godhead: “We are not a chain of command, we are a circle of relationship.”  Wow.

Click HERE for some more quotes.

Buy it at:
Life Walk Store

Here’s more from other readers:

The Shack is a one of a kind invitation to journey to the very heart of God. Through my tears and cheers, I have been indeed transformed by the tender mercy with which William Paul Young opened the veil that too often separated me from God and from myself. With every page, the complicated do’s and don’t that distort a relationship into a religion were washed away as I understood Father, Son, and Holy Ghost for the first time in my life.
(Patrick M. Roddy, Emmy Award Winning Producer of ABC News)

When the imagination of a writer and the passion of a theologian cross-fertilize the result is a novel on the order of The Shack. This book has the potential to do for our generation what John Bunyan’s Pilgrim’s Progress did for his. It’s that good.
(Eugene Peterson, Professor Emeritus Of Spiritual Theology,
Regent College, Vancouver, B.C.)

Don’t miss this! If there’s a better book out there capturing god’s engaging nature and his ability to crawl into our darkest nightmare with his love, light and healing, I’ve not seen it. For the most ardent believer or newest spiritual seeker, the shack is a must-read.
–Wayne Jacobsen, author of So You Don’t Want to Go to Church Anymore

Riveting, with twists that defy your expectations while teaching powerful theological lessons without patronizing. I was crying by page 100. You cannot read it without your heart becoming involved.
(Gayle E. Erwin, Author The Jesus Style)

You will be captivated by the creativity and imagination of the shack, and before you know it you’ll be experiencing god as never before. William young’s insights are not just captivating, they are biblically faithful and true. Don’t miss this transforming story of grace.
(Greg Albrecht, Editor, Plain Truth Magazine)

Finally! A guy-meets-god novel that has literary integrity and spiritual daring. The Shack cuts through the clichés of both religion and bad writing to reveal something compelling and beautiful about life’s integral dance with the divine. This story reads like a prayer—like the best kinds of prayer, filled with sweat and wonder and transparency and surprise. When I read it, I felt like I was fellowshipping with God. If you read one work of fiction this year, let this be it.
(Mike Morrell, Zoecarnate.com)

This is my most favorite book that I have ever read.
(Jordyn Foster, 12 years old (Estacada, OR)

More Reviews:

“I received a copy of The Shack during a very difficult transition in my life. The story has blown the door wide open to my soul and during this time I’ve asked many questions. It reminds me that though I ask, “Why?”, I know who is still in control.”
Wynonna Judd, Recording Artist

The Shack is a one of a kind invitation to journey to the very heart of God. Through my tears and cheers, I have been indeed transformed.”
Patrick M. Roddy, Emmy Award-winning producer, ABC News

NEVER have I read a book that broadened my view of God like this one! I picked it up by ‘random circumstance’ in a bin at Wal-Mart and decided to give it a try. I am SO glad I did! God has been growing me lately in the area of seeing His awesome greatness and ‘bigness’. This book was definitely a tool He used at just this time to encourage me along. (So much for ‘random circumstance’ ! ) I loved the author’s depiction of the Trinity and how God ’showed up’ in just the way that Mack would best relate to. I think we, as Christians, can all be guilty at some point of having God in a box. Even as open or liberated a view as we might think we have, God is STILL bigger. And, the author does not deviate from Biblical truths about God either, another key and important fact that makes this book a really great read for even a non-Christian. Thumbs up all the way!!
– Kathleen Kennedy, 08/18/2008

I loved this book!!!!! I am a Christian. I have never read a book that made me feel so close to God. After reading this book it made me want to get closer to God and do more reading in my bible.
– Ailayna Hernandez, 08/05/2008

Click HERE for some more quotes.

 

2 Responses to “The Shack”

  1. Servant Says:

    The emotional response is what makes a book like this tricky – you *want* to believe it is all true. Doctrinally I cannot agree with this book … but people don’t care much about doctrine these days…

    • lifewalkblog Says:

      I, as you can tell from my review, disagree with you.
      As Rob Bell has said, “Doctrine is a great servant, but a terrible master.”

      “Jesus, Papa and Sarayu are a faithful portrayal of the One whom English-language Bibles call “God.” The book’s vision of God jives nicely with the Bible’s vision, not to mention the vision of ancient Christianity.”
      “When the early Jesus-followers sat down to write down a summary of the Bible’s message, they produced the ancient ecumenical creeds — documents that don’t have much to say about a faraway solitary pissed-off elderly white dude. Instead, they speak of a man named Jesus, the one he called Father, and the elusive third one he called Spirit. The creeds speak of a life of love shared by these three, a life that is transforming the universe by incarnating itself within it. In other words, when the creeds look at the Bible, they see what The Shack sees.” – John Stonecypher.


Leave a Reply

